Hockey: St. Louis Elected to Hockey Hall of Fame

Courtesy Vermont Sports Information

TORONTO, ONT. – Martin St. Louis ’97, the all-time leading scorer in the history of Vermont men’s hockey, was elected into the Hockey Hall of Fame on Tuesday. St. Louis will be formally inducted on Nov. 12 along with Martin Brodeur, Willie O’Ree, NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman, Alexander Yakushev and Jayna Hefford.

“On behalf of our current players and staff, UVM alumni, Victory Club members, and UVM fans, a huge congrats to Martin St. Louis and his family on being chosen to the Hockey Hall of Fame,” said head coach Kevin Sneddon.

St. Louis played 16 seasons in the NHL for the Calgary Flames, Tampa Bay Lightning, and New York Rangers. He finished his NHL career with 391 goals and 642 assists for 1,033 points in 1,134 regular season games. He and former UVM teammate Eric Perrin ’97 combined to win the 2004 Stanley Cup with the Lightning. That same season, the forward captured the Art Ross Trophy, Hart Trophy, and Ted Lindsay Award.

During his final NHL season, St. Louis became the 81st player in NHL history and only the sixth undrafted player to notch 1,000 career points. He won a total of seven major NHL awards, including three Lady Byng Trophies, and skated in six NHL All-Star Games. St. Louis and former Catamount Patrick Sharp ’02 also captured gold medals for Team Canada in at the 2014 Sochi Olympics.

St. Louis, whose number 8 was retired at Vermont on Jan. 8, 2016 at Gutterson Fieldhouse, became the first player in the history of the Lightning franchise to have his number 26 retired a year later on Jan. 14, 2017. He was a three-time All-American for the Catamounts and finished his career with a program-best 267 points.